top of page

Winter camping!!

my weekend consisted of sleeping in the cold and having the best time of what winter can be.

my patrol was down to 3 souls and thankfully they started us an awesome shelter. I was thankful for that. I would only be weak and tired if I had tried alone. I made a kitchen for us. with a small table. It was what we needed. Enough space to move and operate. I feel a little sick from what Dinner was made of..... waiting for 8 ft of snow harden under its own weight for 90 minutes, we sipped down coco and kept moving to stay warm. We then started digging out the quinzee like an animal would. It was neat to practice, what could keep me alive. I watched and learned a skill. I helped carve and shape the place that would keep me safe in the cold hours. I was warm and secure. Except for my feet.... They did get a bit chilled in that early morning, you know that cold part of the morning...

When you first open your eyes and realize how cold the air is around you.... for hours your body has roared up heat in this bag and now you must leave.... You breath in that crisp air and your body feels weak. I knew I was okay and I ate a some calories just to get home. I knew if I kept moving I could make anything. Water and movement... Generates heat.

You must stay active in winter camping. To be cold and still is death. You can play games or hike to pass the time. It gets dark very early..Be prepared to stay moving for a while.

By 4:30 I was almost done with dinner... it was late and turning to dusk.

We had a shelter started.

I was having fun. My teammates. We did it together.

I think I was blessed more so to have good spirits among my team than anything. They knew how to get things done with common sense and experience. We all learn from each other. Winter camping is fun. I love it actually...just go where you can make fire..

NO FIRES IN BLACK HILLS.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page